Video: Should White Rappers Use The N-Word?


From what I’ve heard and read the artists Kreyshawn and V-Nasty have dropped the N-bomb. Kreyshawn simply tweeted a quote from DMX saying “WTF YOU WANT FROM A N*GGA?! *DMX VOICE*” But I’ve read that she has used the word over and over. Then there’s V-Nasty. This chick decides to drop the N-bomb multiple times during a freestyle in Andy Milonakis’ crib. Even Eminem doesn’t say it, and if he did I guarantee he would get a pass. I know, I know, he dropped it very long time ago, but has since rectified that situation. There wasn’t a twitter back then and he wasn’t popular either, so there was less access.

Its getting out of hand with people (outside the african-american community) feeling that they have free reign to say it in all capacities. I don’t like using the word in the first place (slips out once every blue moon), so I don’t find it acceptable for my own people to use it. At the same time if we’re able to spin a negative into a positive then I can’t hate. That word come with so much cultural weight, it makes it harder for me to be so accepting. The problem is brevity — people don’t take the time to teach the youth about the history of this word, like get into serious conversations about it. Education is the only way people can prosper and come together in this diverse world.

Let me be clear. I do not think Kreayshawn or V-Nasty are racist at all. They are just caught up in the hype like everyone else. African-Americans can’t even bitch about this. Why? We made the word acceptable.

Leave a Reply

